Lawrence Jacobs

Top rated Estate Planning & Probate attorney in Potomac, Maryland

McMillan Metro Faerber, P.C.
Lawrence Jacobs
McMillan Metro Faerber, P.C.

Practice Areas: Estate Planning & Probate, Business & Corporate; view more

Licensed in Maryland since: 1974

Education: American University Washington College of Law

Selected to Super Lawyers: 2012 - 2013, 2015 - 2018

McMillan Metro Faerber, P.C.

7811 Montrose Road
Suite 400
Potomac, MD 20854 Visit website

Details

While working as a partner at McMillan Metro, P.C., Lawrence Jacobs developed a reputation for himself as the man with a plan. He genuinely enjoys helping people and serving as the person his clients turn to when they need help with estate planning, probate and business matters. He works from his office in Potomac, MD, and serves clients in the Washington, D.C. Metro Area.

Mr. Jacobs has been licensed to practice in Maryland in 1974. His journey to becoming a lawyer began with earning his B.A. at the Franklin and Marshall College. From there, he went on to complete his J.D. at Washington College of Law, American University. 

When it comes to providing top-quality service to his clients, Mr. Jacobs proves that the little things matter as much as results do. His clients choose him because he listens before advising and because he picks up the phone and returns missed calls as quickly as possible. Same-sex couples also turn to him to leverage the knowledge he honed in this area to protect their assets.

Mr. Jacobs values giving back to his community and is a proud advocate of the LGBTQ community. He has represented well over 1000 same-sex couples in helping to protect their families and assets with thoughtful partnership planning documents and strategies.

Practice areas

Estate Planning & Probate, Business/Corporate

Focus areas

Business Formation and Planning, Business Organizations, Contracts, Estate Planning, Probate & Estate Administration, Trusts

  • 70% Estate Planning & Probate
  • 30% Business/Corporate

First Admitted: 1974, Maryland

Professional Webpage: https://www.mcmillanmetro.com/our-people/lawrence-s-jacobs/

Scholarly Lectures/Writings:
  • Powers Of Attorney: If You Need Them And Don’t Have Them, It’s Too Late, https://www.mcmillanmetro.com/articles/get-powers-of-attorney-now/
  • Same-Sex Marriage in Maryland, https://www.mcmillanmetro.com/articles/same-sex-marriage-in-maryland/
  • “A new perspective, a new insight”…, https://www.mcmillanmetro.com/articles/a-new-perspective-a-new-insight/
  • Marriage: It’s More and Less Than You Think, https://www.mcmillanmetro.com/articles/marriage-its-more-and-less-than-you-think/
  • Think Twice Before Rolling Over Your TSP, https://www.mcmillanmetro.com/articles/think-twice-before-rolling-over-your-tsp/
  • Don’t Play Password Jeopardy, https://www.mcmillanmetro.com/articles/dont-play-password-jeopardy/
  • Watch Out for This Scam from Your “State Government”, https://www.mcmillanmetro.com/articles/fake-state-government-mail/
  • This Deceptive Mailing Is a Good Reminder, https://www.mcmillanmetro.com/articles/deceptive-mail-scam/
  • Seven Myths of Estate Planning, https://www.mcmillanmetro.com/articles/seven-myths-of-estate-planning/
  • The Myth that Married Couples Don’t Need Wills and Powers of Attorney., https://www.mcmillanmetro.com/articles/married-couples-need-wills-powers-of-attorney/
  • Why Pre-nups Are Not Only for Rich and Famous People, https://www.mcmillanmetro.com/articles/why-pre-nups-are-not-only-for-rich-and-famous-people/
  • Renovation Litigation: Here’s how to avoid it, https://www.mcmillanmetro.com/articles/avoid-renovation-litigation/
  • Who actually owns your home? Check that deed!, https://www.mcmillanmetro.com/articles/who-actually-owns-your-home-check-that-deed/
  • Who Should Be In Charge If You Can’t Be?, https://www.mcmillanmetro.com/articles/choosing-an-executor/
  • Estate Planning In This Coronavirus Moment, https://www.mcmillanmetro.com/articles/estate-planning-during-coronavirus/
Special Licenses/Certifications:
  • Maryland Real Estate Broker
Bar/Professional Activity:
  • Maryland
  • District of Columbia
  • Virginia
Educational Background:
  • B.A., Franklin and Marshall College
Pro bono/Community Service:
  • Equality Maryland's legal counsel, Board member, President and co-founder of its Political Action Committee, 1999
Honors/Awards:
  • Larry received Equality Maryland's highest honor for his decade of service to the State's LGBT community, Community Advocate of the Year, Equality Maryland, 2008
  • For my work in assisting LGBT business owners and individuals, Business Leader of the Year, DC LGBT Chamber of Commerce, 2005

Office location for Lawrence Jacobs

7811 Montrose Road
Suite 400
Potomac, MD 20854

Phone: 301-664-4798

Selections

6 Years Super Lawyers
  • Super Lawyers: 2012 - 2013, 2015 - 2018

Articles about Lawrence Jacobs by Super Lawyers

Love and Documents

Additional sources of information about Lawrence Jacobs

Attorney resources for Lawrence Jacobs

Page Generated: 0.13456201553345 sec